Sales Management or the Art of Mental Feng Shui

Do you ever wonder why things just pop into your brain? I was in my office last night thinking of something fresh and completely off the wall to write about sales management. Nothin’, absolutely nothin’ passed through that caught my interest. So I planted the idea and this morning checked in on that cob webby part of my brain where I store things for later reference. Sure enough, “mental feng shui” was sitting there like an 80 mile an hour fastball waiting for Justin Morneau to hammer it.

Yes there is something to this but it’s just not evident. Let’s get a definition of feng shui out of the way first. It is a complex body of knowledge that reveals how to balance the energies of any given space to assure the health and good fortune for people inhabiting it. Or, the more funky one. Feng shui is improving life by receiving positive Qi. (Maybe that’s what was wrong with the idiots at AIG. The negative Qi made them do it!)

When you manage salespeople you are, in essence, managing the area between their ears. (As Ben Hogan so accurately put it “Golf is played on a six inch course”.) At any given time a salesperson’s brain might be dealing with any of the following thoughts:

  • I really hate this job but I’m trapped
  • I wish my boss understood me better
  • My wife and I spent way too much on that flat screen TV
  • If I lose the Thompson account there goes my year and the bonus
  • Should I consider the marketing job that will be opening up
  • I wonder why the VP of Sales is coming out to work with me

And these examples represent only a fraction of what’s roaming through the brain of any salesperson at any given time. I maintain that a good sales manager should be aware of some of the unnecessary junk that floats through a rep’s brain and that the manager needs to help the salesperson focus on what’s important and what’s not. Put another way, people need to live in the present. A good manager knows what the “present” looks like to a salesperson so why not help them focus on that rather than the situations that are past or future?

Is this not similar to “balancing the energies of any given space”?

The Final Thought:  “Present-moment living, getting in touch with your now, is at the heart of effective living. When you think about it, there really is no other moment you can live. Now is all there is, and the future is just another present moment to live when it arrives.” Wayne Dyer

4 thoughts on “Sales Management or the Art of Mental Feng Shui

  1. Good post! One way to balance the energies of any given space is to use a space clearing technique. A sage smudgestick or stick of incense does this nicely. I often smudge myself (waft the smoke from smudger or incense all around my body head to toe) to clear the cobwebs of my mind. Why do you suppose that Buddhist temples burn incens? It is for this very purpose, to clear away mental clutter and to focus one’s attention on the present, the OM, non-chattering centered place within our core. Read my post “Clearing the Vibes of Corporate Greed” for more about space clearing. Hope this helps. 🙂

  2. Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Cheers!

  3. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you
    might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

