“We Interrupt This Recession To Bring You News Of a Bowl Of Cherries.”

I’VE HAD IT! My wife wonders why I always read the sports page first in the morning and why I leave the room to catch up on blogs when the news comes on. Bad news sells more advertising than good news! A wise man once wondered why people watch soap operas. The answer is simple-they want to know that someone else is worse off than they are! And there you have it.

For one very good reason I refuse to get caught up in the ugly news that permeates the airwaves-I am an optimist. I think I learned this from my father who, in the 1950’s and 1960’s, saw a commie behind every bush. I kept looking but I never found Kruschev or any other comrades. I loved my father but I thought he was nuts. He wasted enormous amounts of time worrying about the start of WW III.

In my63 years there have been wars, the proliferation of drugs, racism, inflation and its brother stagflation, recessions, enormously dumb politicians, scandals, tragedies and a host of other really bad things. Interspersed among these have been some very good things-bull markets, a few rational politicians (think Reagan), Mother Theresa, our kids finding great spouses, grandchildren, a rational pope (John) and a host of other really good things.

And why am I an optimist? Because I can see things happening that most people can’t or won’t see. And no, I don’t have a coven of witches stashed away in the closet! There are no Taro cards, Ouiji boards, crystal balls, or pacts with Beelzebub! I’ve just got a really good imagination, an imagination that will create opportunities because I picture them happening. (If you have ever read “The Secret” you know what I’m talking about.) Visualizing events that can and will happen is not mumbo-jumbo.

Of course there is a catch. Good things happen to people who expect them if they put actions in place that will make “something” happen. And no I don’t wear rose-colored glasses, I am not pie-eyed, nor do I wish on a star. I will sit in one spot for 30 minutes (tough to do for an ADD adict) and visualize what I need and what I have to do to address that “need”. I don’t consciously think about the need being addressed by tomorrow, the day after or a year from now. However, I do know that it will happen.

As the old cereal ad said, “try it you’ll like it”.

The Final Thought:     I Like this quote I dislike this quoteVisualization is daydreaming with a purpose.” Bo Bennett

3 thoughts on ““We Interrupt This Recession To Bring You News Of a Bowl Of Cherries.”

  1. Thanks for a great post. This is my year of visualization. I have decided to use the law of attraction for good this year. I haven’t read the Secret yet. My friend let me borrow her DVD and your blog has prompted me to finally watch it. I love the concept and truly believe in this law. I have always been a positive person, but now I am being deliberately positive and visualizing the outcomes I want. You can’t believe how well it’s working. It is scary and I am learning to be serious about what I visualize cuz…. it just might come true – and fast!

  2. Thanks for the perspective. Attended a speaker event earlier this week. The basic message was people are unhappy because they are continuously comparing their life to what the media tells them their life should be. I’m very glad to hear you’re not watching soap operas!

  3. Great blog Tom. You are absolutely right. There are far too many people out there spending entirely too much time focused on negative and drama.

    It’s a distraction that keeps us from achieving our dreams.

    Keep up the great work – and stay away from the negativity out there.

Leave a Reply

