Sales Skills-Watch Out For The Easy Sale

Several weeks ago I was sitting in a meeting with two individuals who were in the process of starting a company. The business plan was done, over half the funding had been obtained, manufacturing has begun. One of the gentlemen in the conversation spoke these “fatal words”. This should be an easy sale. My stomach churned, my head hurt and I lost most of the feeling in my legs.

I sat there wondering if this person was on some mood elevating pharmaceuticals or was just flexing his selling muscles. I calmly stated that there is no such thing as an easy sale.

Regardless of the product or the market I sincerely believe that there is no such thing as an easy sale. There might be products that are easier to sell than other products, there no doubt are markets that would embrace a new product but regardless of all that there is still a process that a salesperson has to follow to get one person to sign off on a PO. And there is no telling how that one person will react when the salesperson makes the call.

Here are the dangers in thinking a sale will be easy:

  1. The salesperson will abandon his or her selling process.
  2. Since the close is a “gimme” the salesperson will present the product and ask for the business without probing for prospect needs.
  3. The salesperson will press harder to close (and talk more) if they think the prospect is not interested.
  4. Inevitably, the salesperson will get frustrated and lose interest in the product.

You wouldn’t think that yours truly, the grizzled veteran, would fall victim to this but I did. A client of mine showed me a product that I thought was sure fire but the salesperson has been stonewalled by the organizations that don’t see the same value as the person who created the product. Of course when I saw the product and  the sales projections I told the client that the sales projections were too low. My assumption was that the organizations would see the same thing I did with the product. Again, assumptions are the mother of all screw ups!

Selling requires a process and time. Please keep that in mind when you’re tempted to say something like “this is a no-brainer” sale!

The Final Thought: All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them. Galileo

Leave a Reply

